“God gave me a little sapling. I nurtured him into a young tree and sent him back to Him.”

Such a beautiful expression of faith, such strength of conviction. She had lost her 22 year old son in a road accident, and she was saying it with a smile. To even offer her condolence felt like an insult to her mettle. The loss of a child is the greatest fear of every mother, something I dare not even attempt to imagine. So I held her close, one mother offering fortitude to another, hopefully imbibing a tiny fraction of her grace and dignity in return.

This happened just this morning. I read today’s word prompt and the memory came rushing back. Death is still a very raw subject with me, so even though I have been staring at my page for quite a while now, I have no more words to share, just a prayer…
God bless and keep all the saplings and young trees safe, may they grow tall and strong, may they go on to shelter and nurture, and may they all outlive their greenskeepers.


Tree

Leave a Reply

