“El Condor Pasa (If I Could)”

I’d rather be a torch than a candle
Yes, I would
If I could
I surely would

I’d rather set aflame than melt away
Yes, I would
If I only could
I surely would

Away, I’d rather die away
Like a blaze of light that’s here and gone
A candle gets burnt down to the ground
She gives the world its saddest sound
It’s saddest sound

I’d rather be an adventure than a prayer
Yes, I would
If I could
I surely would

I’d rather feel you hold on till the very end
Yes, I would
If I only could
I surely would

(My version. Excuse me Simon & Garfunkel)

I see the romance in a candle, the heroism of spreading light even at the cost of yourself, even with your dying breath. The subtle beauty of diffused light soothes one even in the dark. The colours, rhythm and dance of a flickering flame. There is breathtaking passion in melting wax running down like lost tears in the moonlight. Love and sorrow, the twins… first the love, fragrant and strong, then the sorrow of dying embers bidding a final farewell. It is for this that we offer them at the altars of gods.
I see the beauty in a candle.

But I’d rather be torchlight.

Bright. Practical. Not somebody who will give herself up just to light up your world. Don’t romanticize me at altars; take me on your adventures. Hold me in your hand, heck fix me on your head, but don’t leave me burning on the side. Always be aware that I exist. Through tempest or rain, I will not flicker, I will not surrender.
And when our adventure is done, when I go out in a blaze of glory, just change my batteries and let’s illuminate the world again.


Candle

Leave a Reply

