My best friend in school was a fabulous singer. I was not. But we were besties, and besties do everything together. Which is how I ended up on the stage during our school’s annual day program, singing the chorus with her.
The song, incidentally chosen by the teacher, was from an old and highly successful classic movie from way back in 1952. It had a haunting melody and the black and white scenes made for a gorgeous backdrop. But at that age all that mattered was that I got to stand next to my friend in front of the entire school, thereby firmly and finally establishing myself as the undisputed best friend.

Fast forward many years and I had my precious bundle of joy, who was unfortunately severely colic. For the first few months I spent half the night trying to sooth him with my lullabies. Ofcourse I knew no lullabies, so that meant his life started with a heavy overdose of hymns, patriotic anthems, advertisement jingles and the song that my bestie had taught me.
Hush little baby don’t you cry…Mama’s going to sing you a lullaby…

Today I stand at a precipice, looking at life and living, and the words take on a new meaning. It’s a beautiful Hindi song. For those of my friends who don’t understand the language, I have roughly translated the lyrics, making a sincere effort to keep the meaning intact. Of course as with any language, the translation does not do justice to the original. Do listen to the original song too , from the movie Daagh (stain).

 

O my heart
You rather take another path
You’ve had your fill of this world of woe
It’s time to find another home to go
O my heart
you rather take
another path

To where none by grief is stricken rend
Where the stars don’t false promises portend
Where the stars don’t false promises portend
Of what use are these blooms all around
When the one bud of love is burnt to ground
Old wounds are once again torn apart
O my heart
you rather take
another path

Four tears of false commiseration were shed
Then walked away with nonchalance they turning head
Then walked away with nonchalance they turning head
Someone’s entire world was there being devastated
The earth stood a mute spectator sedated
The merciless sky not a word orchestrated
O my heart
you rather take
another path

 


Written for The Weekly Discover Challenge – Song and Daily Post Sincere

Leave a Reply

