This is a continuation of The Deadly Orchestra, an earlier blog.

Close enough to start a war
All that I have is on the floor
God only knows what we’re fighting for
All that I say, you always say more
-Adele (Turning Tables)

When you started locking me up in your gilded cage I should have known. While you were systematically isolating me from all my friends, I should have known. When you discouraged me from going out but encouraged me to spend time online, I should have known. Time online was time indoors and that was what you wanted. You saw my loneliness grow steadily and that pleased you.

Start gardening, you said. Make our home a paradise. But the devil does not lord over paradise! Try home-brewing, you suggested. When her man returns home after a hard day’s labour, a good wife helps him kick back and relax. What of the good wife who has toiled all day – just the kicks.

I cant take it any more. I’m dying here. My reality and dreams have meshing into one unending nightmare that I cannot wake up from. But I’m not dead yet. Not yet. If I can’t get out, then you, my lord and master, must get in. I’ve thought long and hard about it. Thought and re-thought . It’s time to turn the tables.

You do admire my pretty foxglove flowers, don’t you? Do you know how poisonous they are? Poisonous enough to have killed 69 people in Mozambique when their beer was contaminated with it. I read about that in Forbes magazine online.

And today I am going to serve you my home brewed beer.

Gone Baby Gone.

One thought on “Turning Tables

Leave a Reply

