185-12-december-11th-2016

I did not know that I was capable of murder until now. I did not know that I was capable of such abject rage. I want to burn them down, electrocute them, squash them like the vile creatures that they are, have their blood on my hands, and then as they die I will enjoy the aroma of their death.

As dusk approaches I am filled with absolute terror. They will come for my blood. They always do. I move from room to room shutting windows and doors. You would imagine that this would suffice to keep them out. But no, they are creatures that appear to defy the laws of physics and any and every tiny opening is an avenue for them. So just to be sure I cover all the drains too. Then I don my protective clothing, recheck my defence arsenal, and wait. They are masters of guerilla warfare, but as God is my witness, I will give them a fight. I will not go gently into the night.

I hear the buzz of their approach, my every sense alert. It is time to defend what is mine.

I simply cannot and will not abide mosquitoes.

 


Written for Sunday Photo Fiction

24 thoughts on “This is war!

  1. Nice opening line, making us think we are talking murder and mayhem and not pest control! Fun story, even if the prey in this tale is anything but

    Like

Leave a Reply

