Some Devastations happen within…

I am my father’s cherished treasure
to him more precious than all other.

His heart it was not firing right
Serious matter that gave us a fright
So there we were in an alien city
in a pioneer hospital that was quite pretty
Tests tests tests galore
this rigmarole such a bore
When finally we were good to go
the administrator wanted to know
“Have you got with you anything valuable, sir?”
“Indeed,” said daddy, “my daughter here.”
They had a laugh, this joke the best.
But he and I knew, he meant no jest.

I am my father’s cherished treasure
to him more precious than all other.

The clock keeps ticking, we all get old
Another hospital sterile and cold
This time the tides against me flow
I know I must let daddy go.
Drowning out the repertoire
I will now sign the DNR.
The doctor frowns, the doctor asks
“Is there no other, a man perhaps?
Is there no son? Is there no brother?”
I stand before him tears held back tight
ripping my heart out to do what’s right
as he lashes me with his ignorance
This seemingly educated who has no sense.

I look at my daddy lying there
If you could speak they would not dare
Humiliate your only heir
All he sees is a woman standing
A projection of his own shortcoming
Knows not what a fool he’s being
But it’s ok daddy, the fools I can endure
Your love has made me most secure.
He may not, but I know for sure

I am my father’s cherished treasure
to him more precious than all other.

4 thoughts on “I am

  1. Oh – I hear such a longing for the hospital staff to have seen the narrator with the same eyes that the father saw her, valued her, cherished her. This poem really spoke to me about the profound frustration of ignorant stereotypes, especially at a time of grief.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

