I was not aware
is no excuse
A claim of ignorance
is no recuse
You
left me alone
You
were late coming home

Be there when I return
was my simple entreaty
You thought I was being unreasonable
selfish and silly
Were you that bad a mother
or was I not worth the forfeit
that you could not tell
a tantrum from an appeal?

Did he do something?
I really don’t know
Him I can forgive
but you were my own
From you I expected
protection and care
When his hands were on my body
All I could think was that you were not there

This I remember
This I can say
The scars that run deepest
Weren’t those he gave
You
were my own
You
should have known

Leave a Reply

