“Jenny…I love you…Remember that always…”

Click.

I’m confused. Dan was never the romantic sort. And why the hell was he calling me from the payphone! I try to call back. The number you have dialed is no longer in service.
Now I’m starting to worry.

I call the precinct. Sally puts me on hold. Something is wrong. A knot appears in my stomach. Chief comes on. Dan cannot come to the phone right now! Yes I’m home. No, I’m alone. The kids are at school. Ya, OK, someone is at the door. I’ll call back later.

It’s Dan’s partner. “I’m sorry Jenny,” he says.

No. No. You’re mistaken. I just spoke to Dan. He called me from the precinct payphone. What do you mean that payphone’s been dead for months. He just called me. He did….

PHOTO PROMPT © J Hardy Carroll

In response to Rochelle’s Friday Fictioneers of 28 July 2017

12 thoughts on “Goodbye

Leave a Reply

