This Friday’s Stream of Concioussness (😉) prompt is “a word you have to look up.”

I shall therefore post this prompt without any spell-check. What can I say but – Linda, you asked for it!

I don’t know if it’s a universal correction notation, but in my school, the teachers marked spelling mistakes with a bright red ‘sp’, which they then went on to underline for emphasis, just in case we were colourblind and didn’t notice. Which is to say that the corrected books that came back to me were rather colourful. To the extent that this lethal combination of alphabets has scarred me for like. If they had at any point accidentally even written ‘special’ on my book, my mind would have blanked out the ‘ecial’ part.

Suffice to say that if I actually went on to compile the list of words whose spelling I was unsure of, I would merely be reproducing the dictionary, albeit abridged!

The day that I could finally migrate to a computer was my happiest day. I type with 2 fingers, and am rather slow, but finally I had spell-check. The greatest software that has ever been invented and one that we take for granted far too much. The second greatest software is the one that does autocorrect. Now, nothing is my fault. Spell-check fixes most of my fauxpas (😊) and the rest I blame on Auto-correct.  

2019-2020 SoCS Badge by Shelley!

2 thoughts on “A ‘ecial’ confession

Leave a comment